Thrifting

2 Sep

Thrifting has become increasingly popular in recent years. With the economy the way its been more people are finding new ways to save money. I am so glad that thrifting has gone mainstream. I grew up with my mother taking me to Goodwill  for both donating and buying. We would shop at many different thrift and consignment shops and find some of the most unique items some of which I still own to this day. I remember the time of turned up faces if I told my friends that I got something from the “thift store”…seriously used clothes? Um yes. Now everybody is doing it.

There is nothing wrong with used clothing I wash them very well before wearing them and as far as I’m concerned when shopping at traditional stores you don’t know who or how many people tried it on before you bought it. Another thing is I have found plenty of new and name brand items from a thrift store, a lot of my best pieces where purchased second hand. I will always be a thrifty diva and I will continue the tradition my mother started with my children.

RECENT THRIFTY FIND

Silver and Black Party Dress  (Value Village)

Vintage J. Renee Green Pumps (St. Vincent DePaul)

7 Responses to “Thrifting”

  1. mancunianvintage September 4, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    90% of my wardrobe is thrifted, a good wash is all most items need – you can find some great things – as you’ve done here.

    Gorgeous dress and heels btw 🙂

    • fashiondamore September 5, 2012 at 4:26 am #

      Thanks for commenting! You are actually the first person to comment on my blog I really appreciate it.

    • Match in Six | Atlanta Singles Events September 5, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Oh, you are so right. This is an amazing look. I pinned it on my pinned it on my pinterest! I can’t wait to see some of your other looks. Thanks for posting FasihonDamore

      • fashiondamore October 3, 2012 at 9:46 am #

        I appreciate you sharing my ideas Match in Six!

    • fashiondamore October 3, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Thank you for commenting Macunianvintage! I would say about about 50-60% of my wardrobe is thrifted and I proud of it. So glad to see a fellow thrifter weigh in on this topic.

      I plan on visiting England next year and will need some tips on the thrifting scene there, would be great for us to keep in touch.

      • mancunianvintage October 3, 2012 at 10:08 am #

        Ooh definitely – there are loads around the outskirts of London that are really good – great stock and great prices… give me a shout before you head over and I’ll put a thrifty plan together x

      • fashiondamore October 3, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

        Oh that would be lovely! none of my guys family thrifts so when I asked them about the stores there they had know idea what to tell me. Haven’t set a date yet but when I buy my ticket I will give you a heads up!

Leave a Reply

FACAA

Helping People, Teaching Poverty Free Living, Changing Lives

Chic Damore!

MAKE YOUR STATEMENT

BraveChica

Your Fashion, Life, & Style Inspiration

